Excellence in Leadership Awards

Employee engagement is a top UCI and UC priority. Leaders inspire employees to focus their individual talents on the goals of the organization and to contribute at the highest level. Effective leaders are also guardians of the culture and exemplars in living the organization’s values. As a result, great leaders are often met with the prize of engaged employees who feel prepared and empowered to progress in their careers. The UCI Staff Assembly Excellence in Leadership Award recognizes these exceptional leaders at all levels.

2020 Excellence in Leadership Nominees

Tracy L. Arcuri Executive Director, Development School of Social Sciences, External Relations
Gary L. Bosgraaf Radiation Safety Officer Environmental Health & Safety — EH&S
Amy Bue Internship Manager Division of Continuing Education
Paul Cooper Assistant Chief of Police Police Department
Wayne Fields Assistant Director Student Affairs IT
Mark Gardiner Contract and Grant Manager Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sci
Beatrice Han Registrar and Director of Student Services DCE Student Services
Erika Jordan AVC, Alumni Relations and Constituent Engagement Advancement
Marcus H. Kanda Department Manager History
Tim Keef Chief Marketing Officer UCI Division of Continuing Education
Kate Klimow Chief Administrative Officer/ Director, External R Beall Applied Innovation
Mike Knox Director, Center for Student Leadership Center for Student Leadership
Julie Lance Sr. HRBP & Sr. Dir Strategic & Business Services Human Resources
Lisa Marquez Administrative Officer Pediatrics – Genetics
Rhoda Peng Director of Finance School of Bio Sci Dean’s Office Finance
Kirsten Quanbeck Associate Chancellor Equal Opportunity & Compliance
Ruth Quinnan Director, Graduate Admissions and Academic Affairs Graduate Division
Amy S. Ricks MSO (Management Services Officer) Materials Science and Engineering
Amy Schulz Interim Director Student Center & Event Services Student Affairs
Carl Smith Executive Director of Operations College of Health Sciences
Richard Sudek UCI Chief Innovation Officer Provost’s Office – UCI Beall Applied Innovation
Georgana Thompson UCPath Project Director UCPath
Phil Wang Sr. Associate Athletic Director, Business Affairs Intercollegiate Athletics
Maryann Zovak-Wieder Department Manager Sociology


List of past award recipients


● Only those managers or supervisors with staff appointments are eligible for nomination; those holding academic and/or student assistant title codes are not eligible
● Managers and supervisors may be nominated every year, but may only receive an award every three years (unless manager or supervisor moves to a different job/department)
● Only nominations from nominee’s direct report(s) will be reviewed; forms submitted from a nominee’s supervisors will not be considered eligible

Ready to nominate? Go to the 2020 Nomination Procedures

Please contact the Staff Assembly Vice Chair, Connie Cheng, with any questions, comments, or suggestions.