The Mike Puritz Staff Assembly Career Enhancement Scholarship Program

Mike Puritz
Mike Puritz retired in 2015 after 35 years of service to UCI and 19 years of service to Staff Assembly.

Applications accepted from April 15, 2020 to May 31, 2020

Scholarship Program Objective

Through donations from staff, faculty, and the community, this program helps UC Irvine career staff employees continue to impact their career and UCI by furthering their educational goals, whether in pursuit of an academic degree, Continuing Education courses, workshops, webinars, conferences or other classes.

Who is Eligible?

The UCI Staff Assembly Scholarship opportunity is offered to all full-time or part-time UC Irvine career staff employees who have completed their six-month probationary period. Qualified career development training activities include courses, seminars, webinars, and conferences. Items not eligible for scholarship funding are travel or other incidental expenses (such as food, parking, lodging, etc.), courses required to maintain a current license or board certification, and any training paid by or reimbursed from University funds or other organizations.

Application Deadline

Each year, the application deadline is open from April 15 to May 31 (EXTENDED) for reimbursement for coursework to be completed between July 1 of that year and June 30 of the following year. Notification of the scholarship award will be via email before June 30.

Applicants are required to utilize UC Irvine employee discounts for UC and Continuing Education courses. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Qualifying Process

At the end of the application period, the Scholarship Committee will determine the number of scholarships to be awarded based on the funds available for the current year as well as “seeding” the fund for future years. All scholarship reimbursements are limited to no more than $500 each. The Committee will review applications to verify eligibility.

If the number of eligible applications exceeds the funding available, award recipients will be based on a random selection process. The Scholarship Committee may, at its discretion, agree upon and award up to three especially deserving “Committee Awards” not to exceed $500 each among the qualified applications.

If the number of eligible applications is fewer than the funding available, excess funds will be reserved and awarded in the following year. Actual award amounts are not to exceed $500 per individual, per year, and are based on the cost of fees, books, or other directly related expenses that will be reimbursed once receipts are provided within 60 days of completion of the course. The Committee may, at its discretion, reserve any partial funds not used for the following year or apply them to partial scholarships.

Recipients will be notified of their final award amount within 45 days of the close of the application period. To collect their award, they have 60 days following the completion of the course to submit 1) an official grade report or other applicable documentation showing course completion, and 2) original receipts demonstrating proof of payment for course, registration fees, and/or books. Employees who miss this deadline will forfeit their award and monies will be returned to the fund for future scholarships.

Scholarship Recipients

2019-2020:    2018-2019:     
Claudia Campos Christine Lazok-Torres Eric Allton Shruti Mukkamala
Jana Cheng Alexa Lopez Evelyn Anderson Megan Ostovarpour
Elizabeth Craney Gerald Parham Kate Hsieh Jon Sloan
Denise Davis Amanda Valbuena Dannielle Lampkin David Tang
Jenina Del Campo Ashley Valdivia Grace Lee Mei-Hui Wang
Gloria Guzman
2017-2018: 2016-2017: 2015-2016:
Wendy Blanco Jennifer Maitland Rita Frerk Connie Cheng
Kerri Covert Jorge Padilla Lou Illagan Darren Endo
Ryan Foland Brandy Stewart Cecilia Melgoza
Michael Huang Qc Tran  
Kelly Kraus-Lee Chris Wong  

Fundraising Events

3rd Wednesday of every month (dates, times, and locations TBD)

In appreciation to the generous partners of our Dine-Out Fundraisers, please consider dining or ordering take-out from the following restaurants:


The Staff Assembly Career Enhancement Scholarship Program relies on fundraising and donations from UC Irvine faculty, staff, retirees and the community. We would like to thank those who have supported our program by participating in our fundraising events and through donations.

Interested in supporting fellow colleagues to succeed at UC Irvine? Whether it is a one-time donation or monthly contributions automatically deducted from your paycheck, your support at any level is very much appreciated. Your donation may be tax-deductible; please consult your tax adviser.

Make Your Online Donation Now »

Create a Monthly Automatic Payroll Deduction Donation by downloading and completing this form (minimum $5 per paycheck). Please note: If donors have a current Payroll Deduction pledge, they cannot create a new pledge until their current pledge is paid off. The Payroll Office does not currently support this.

About Mike Puritz

Mike Puritz retired in 2005 as Associate Director at UCI Campus Recreation. He had a 35-year career at UCI, starting in 1976 as a coach for UCI Volleyball Summer Camp. In 1978 he was promoted to Associate Director of the Volleyball Camp and served in that position until August 1980, when he was hired as the Head Women’s Volleyball Coach. Over the course of his 16-year coaching career, highlights included the opportunity to mentor numerous Big West scholar-athletes, coach three National All Americans, All Big West team selections, as well as earning UCI Women’s Volleyball’s first NCAA appearance along with a National top 20 ranking. In January 1996, he transitioned to the Campus Recreation Department, eventually becoming the Associate Director of Campus Recreation, Programming and leading the opening of the Anteater Recreation Center (ARC) in January 2000. Puritz served as Chair of the Staff Appreciation Committee and Chair of the Staff Assembly. - Credit UCI Libraries

Scholarship Committee Members

The Scholarship Committee welcomes any member of Staff Assembly to participate in its fundraising and selection efforts. Please contact Sandy Lee to learn more.

Sandy Nga Lee ’99, The Paul Merage School of Business (Chair)
Joe Davenport, Office of The Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning (OVPTL)
Leora Fellus, School of Medicine
Roxanne Ford, University Advancement
Rosanna Horton, Public Health
Jaclyn Kung, Information & Computer Science
Mike Puritz, UCI Retiree
Kelly Swanholm, The Paul Merage School of Business
Briandy Walden, Office of Information Technology
Justin Wang, Human Resources
Suzi Weaver, School of Humanities
Sarah Yoo, The Paul Merage School of Business